Video Game Tuesday: Watch_Dogs [First Act Impressions Only]

Image

 

This week I’m going over my impressions of my first few days of time with Watch_Dogs for the PS4.

Plot Synopsis: The story of Watch Dogs follows Aiden Pearce (Noam Jenkins), a skilled hacker and former thug. Eleven months after his actions led to the death of his niece, Lena, Aiden seeks to bring his own form of justice to the culprits by manipulating Chicago‘s CtOS, or Central Operating System, a supercomputer that controls every piece of technology in the city and contains information on all of the city’s residents and activities which can be used for various purposes.

Plot: I haven’t gotten very far, but so far it’s very interesting and I’m looking forward to really sinking my teeth into the plot. There will be a full review of this game later with more of my thoughts on the plot.

Gameplay: I’ve only beaten the first 6 missions in the main campaign, but I’ve spent the rest of my time just roaming around the city unlocking various things like cars, ctOS towers and branches. I’ve even spent an hour playing Texas Hold’em which is interesting when you can watch an opponents stress level. Other than that I’ve done no side quest missions, but have spent quite a bit of time playing the online modes particularly the Hacking Invasion game type which is very fun.

Image

Multiplayer: Right after I took this screenshot, and while I was tweeting it using the share function my PS4 I had my game invaded. However the player hadn’t started hacking me yet and when I closed the menu for tweeting and saw that a car was behind me in the wrong lane I knew instantly that it was another player. So I got off my bike and shot him in the head. It was very satisfying. He should have hacked me and than jumped off the bridge and swum under the bridge so I couldn’t find him easily while I was standing still. Anyways the gameplay in this really rocks and the multiplayer merges seamlessly with single player. If you are just wandering out in the world, not in any main story or side mission like a criminal convoy, you can be invaded by another player and they can either try to hack you or tail you. If they try to hack you you will be alerted once it starts and you’ll have about a minute and a half to try to find them within a certain area on your mini-map. It’s harder than it sounds because there are tons of NPC’s.

Music: The music in this game is pretty awesome and that’s not even counting the MP3 function of the phone in the game, which can steal any song you hear and copy it so you can play it at your leisure. I personally like the Punk Rock songs, although I wish I could import my own music.

Art: The graphics in this game are amazing and while you PC master racists are going to win in the end, I’m not going to be surprised if we get another Watch_Dogs in the near future because this game broke records for Ubisoft in pre-order sales alone. The next game should take full advantage of the power of the next-gen consoles and it’ll look even nicer.

Overall: If you don’t own this game and you like Open World games you are really missing out.

For those who like: Sci-Fi in present day and age, Hackers, Open-World games like Grand Theft Auto.

Not for those who don’t like: Any of the above, or crude language. There is a lot of swearing in this game, and that’s not even counting the sexual innuendos and so on. This game definitely makes you feel like a creeper sometimes.

One thought on “Video Game Tuesday: Watch_Dogs [First Act Impressions Only]

  1. Pingback: Video Game Tuesday: My Top 5 Games of 2014 | Windborne's Story Eatery

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.